4.03k vs 4.20

Great resource for those just getting started.

Moderators: Susan Smith, admin, Gabriel

John
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

4.03k vs 4.20

Postby John » Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:50 am

I go back and forth between 4.03k and 4.20. I use option 60 to ensure comparability with my program files. However I still have an issue with programs becoming corrupted and un-loadable.

In 4.20 I get an error 9309 and in 4.03k I get an error 2070.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Most the time it works - but when it fails I can't load my .br program anywhere and have to revert to a source copy - which I generally regard as temporary. (and any changes my dad might have made will be lost because he doesn't use a third party editor)

any ideas?

-John Bowman

gordon
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Postby gordon » Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:04 pm

Are you saying you cannot list with input redirection?

e.g. LIST <program_name.wb >program_name.wbs

John
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Postby John » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:23 am

OH - like without loading it at all. I don't know. I did not try that. But next time I will.

Thanks,
John

John
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Postby John » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:20 am

That does work! But the source code it generates is corrupted. This is probably a problem with the antiquated 4.03 I'm using. I'll just keep using my Notepad++ for editing... with it's verbose backup option I'm able to keep a backup copy of the source code everytime I save. :)

-John Bowman

Gabriel
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Postby Gabriel » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:08 pm

What do you mean the source is corrupted?

Does it not look like BR source code? Can you post an example?

If it does look like BR source code, then its possible there's some archaic command that's not supported in 4.03.

Gabriel

John
Posts: 518
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Postby John » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:33 pm

well I haven't inspected the corrupted source code other than noticing that spaces between line numbers and dims seem to disappear when it happens. I figure if only one other random character disappeared than I'd rather re-do my last round of changes anyway than track down a misspelled variable later, so I've always stopped inspecting at that point and started reverting.

But with the inevitable move to a modern version of BR! this problem will just go away of it's own accord. And slightly more adamant use of third party editors will prevent me from caring when it happens in the mean time.

Currently I use option 60 to keep my code compatible between 4.03 and 4.30. Are there others that I should be using as well?

Gabriel
Posts: 364
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Postby Gabriel » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:48 pm

In my understanding, that only keeps the format for .BR files compatible. If you're talking about source code, option 60 has no effect.

There are other things that could make your programs incompatible. For example, if you use a listview or a grid, even with option 60 on, that program will fail in 4.03 because the syntax for Listviews isn't supported in 4.03. Thats just one example.. there are many syntax changes between those versions that are not nearly so obvious. I ran into this problem before once because of a syntax change that I didn't know wasn't supported in 4.03.

Give us a sample of the corrupted Source Code!

Gabriel

gordon
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Postby gordon » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:14 pm

Make sure you are doing your lists to source in the latest version of BR that you may have used to make changes to the program.


Return to “New to Business Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron