Client/Server STARTDIR bug

General development discussion.

Moderators: Susan Smith, admin, Gabriel

Post Reply
Mikhail
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 10:26 am
Location: Ukraine

Client/Server STARTDIR bug

Post by Mikhail »

I found a Client/Server STARTDIR bug:

If your STARTDIR path contains spaces, you will get a 10054 error described here:

http://brwiki2.brulescorp.com/index.php?title=10054

Putting quotes around the STARTDIR path does not remedy the problem.

Here are some examples:

logfile=C:\MyCorp\BR\brlistener_log.txt
loglevel=0
[
Label=myproject
StartDir=C:\MyCorp\App b <-----BAD
Executable=c:\mycorp\br\brserver.exe
Config=c:\mycorp\br\brconfig.sys
Multisession
]
[
Label=myproject2
StartDir="C:\MyCorp\App b" <-----BAD
Executable=c:\mycorp\br\brserver.exe
Config=c:\mycorp\br\brconfig.sys
Multisession
]
[
Label=myproject3
StartDir=C:\MyCorp\Appb <-----GOOD
Executable=c:\mycorp\br\brserver.exe
Config=c:\mycorp\br\brconfig.sys
Multisession
]

If you still need the directory with spaces and cannot change its name, then as a workaround, you can use another STARTDIR without spaces and then in your BR program switch to the folder you really want (the one that causes problems because of spaces).

The problem was found in BR 4.3, but I have not tested BR 4.2 and below
GomezL
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:51 am
Contact:

Re: Client/Server STARTDIR bug

Post by GomezL »

There are other reasons why you don't want the root name to have spaces, but there is a "Workaround"

on the Server from DOS:

DIR "C:\MyCorp\App*" /x

It will return something like this

C:\>dir "c:\Pro*" /x
Volume in drive C is OS
Volume Serial Number is 52BC-8936

Directory of C:\MyCorp\

02/10/2016 02:29 PM <DIR> App~1 App b


While the ~1 isn't guaranteed to be the same on every system, the "/x" parameter displays the "Short or 8.3 name"
Post Reply