Client Server Printing

More advanced topics discussed.

Moderators: Susan Smith, admin, Gabriel

gtisdale
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:54 am
Location: Concord, Massachusetts
Contact:

Client Server Printing

Post by gtisdale »

I’m starting to try CS 430 printing. I can get win:@/DEFAULT to work perfectly, but if I try win:@/SELECT I get a 609 error, even if I select the default printer.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

FNGeorge
bluesfannoz
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Contact:

Post by bluesfannoz »

Printing on the client is the default in client server. So there is no need for the @ in either statement.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
gtisdale
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:54 am
Location: Concord, Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by gtisdale »

Still having problems printing in CS. I disabled OPTION 30 server side printing so the default is CLIENT - no change

I can print PREVIEW:/DEFAULT and then select a printer and all goes well except my PRINTER.SYS is ignored.

I have tried a number of different things and my PRINTER.SYS is ignored.

Any suggestions?

I have confirmed that it is located in the same directory as WB32.exe (SERVER) and the WBCONFIG.SYS and it is referenced in the WBCONFIG.SYS as INCLUDE PRINTER.SYS

FNGeorge
bluesfannoz
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Contact:

Post by bluesfannoz »

You might want to check your REMOTESPOOLPATH statement and make sure its set to a folder that exists and is writeable.

We have PRINTER NWP statements in our PRINTER.SYS make sure you have those for the codes your using.

What version of 4.3 so I can test on mine that code I know works in 4.2?
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
bluesfannoz
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Contact:

Post by bluesfannoz »

You might want to run a PrinterList() and see if you have an invalid name for a Printer on your client machine.

It might show you a printername out there that BR doesn't like. I could see that possibly causing the 0609 error...
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
GomezL
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:51 am
Contact:

Post by GomezL »

I just checked my brconfig.sys and I have a command as follows:

SpoolCmd @ Batch\WinSpool.cmd [SPOOLFILE] [QUEUE] [PRINTER] \\%COMPUTERNAME% OUTPUT [WSID] [PROGRAM]


I am pretty sure the "@" is the key here.

Winspool.cmd is our batch file that spools our files to HTML, EXCEL, etc.

As far as the translations, perhaps your PRINTER.SYS file is not being processed.
GomezL
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:51 am
Contact:

Post by GomezL »

I looked for REMOTESPOOLPATH on the BR Wiki, but couldn't find it.


Is this a new 4.3 command?
gordon
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Post by gordon »

There, unfortunately, have been a lot of changes concerning INCLUDE statement processing. I believe things have settled down now, but I often would have to switch things around going from one release to another.

One time I would include a full path, and the next time even that wouldn't work. I would suggest that you read the 4.3 release notes carefully concerning "current directory" BR assumptions, and if that proves to be wrong, let me know and try using a full path ( maybe beginning with a colon ).

Once again, I believe we have corrected these irregularities, but it needs review.
bluesfannoz
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Contact:

Post by bluesfannoz »

No REMOTESPOOLPATH is a SUBSTITUTE statement like SPOOLPATH and has been there at least since 4.17.

Do a STATUS SUBSTITUTE

You will see what its currently set to.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
bluesfannoz
Posts: 291
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Contact:

Post by bluesfannoz »

On the Printer.sys not loading, make sure there isn't a message in the startup box referencing an issue loading Printer.sys.

If its not finding it, thats where it will be reported. If you have a log file setup, it would also be there I believe.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
gordon
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Post by gordon »

Taken from New Console.Doc:
27) SPOOLPATH AND CLIENT SERVER PRINTING EXTENSIONS

Client side reports are always created in a spool file on the client. This includes both WIN:/ and 'SPOOLCMD @' reports.

Two SPOOLPATH statements are allowed, one for the server and one for the client. The client SPOOLPATH should have '@' right after the SPOOLPATH keyword (e.g. SPOOLPATH @ ...) to designate where on the client spool files should be placed.
GomezL
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:51 am
Contact:

Post by GomezL »

I see.

Substitute [REMOTESPOOLPATH] @:.
gtisdale
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:54 am
Location: Concord, Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by gtisdale »

CS is still ignoring my PRINTER.SYS sbstitutions.

I tried various INCLUDE commands and finally just copied the PRNTER substitutions into my BRCONFIG.SYS file so INCLUDE is not a factor.

I also did a STATUS ALL and saw that the substitutions are indeed loaded. I initiated PRINT_DIR and can see that the parameters are properly placed in the RAW file.

When I print the report, however, the replaceable parameters are printed rather than their substitutions.

I hav checked the printer name and it matches the substitution definitions.

If I rub BR430 directly as a combined by activating the SERVER only then the substitutions work properly. However, in CS mode no substitutions take place.

Any suggestions? (Using BR430 CS dated 5/13/2011 430r+)

Thanks

FNGeorge
gordon
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Post by gordon »

So INCLUDE apparently wasn't the problem. After this to check for printer loaded statements try STATUS PRINTER ( or ST PRI ). I suggest that you restore your INCLUDE structure and make sure it is working that way.

The linkage between specific printers and the printer substitutions is done with the PRINTER TYPE statement. The first part of PRINTER.SYS, as it sits on the FTP site in Dll_Distr/printing has the following statements:

Code: Select all

PRINTER TYPE PCL select PRN:
PRINTER TYPE PCL select DIRECT:
PRINTER TYPE NWP select WIN:
PRINTER TYPE NWP select PREVIEW:
Please see if your STATUS PRINTER command reports those statements.

If they do, then indicate what the fully substituted printer name is that you are using that is not matching.
gtisdale
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:54 am
Location: Concord, Massachusetts
Contact:

Post by gtisdale »

Printer List is:

Code: Select all

HP4 @192.168.1.149
ScanSoft PDF Create! @DocuCom PDF Port:
pdfFactory Pro @FPP3:
Microsoft XPS Document Writer @XPSPort:
HP6L(file) @FILE:
HP4200(letter) @IP_192.168.16.21
HP4200(Legal) @IP_192.168.16.21
hp psc 1300 series (Copy 1) @USB002
hp psc 1300 series @USB001
HP LaserJet 6L USB @USB003
HP LaserJet 6L @USB003
HP LaserJet 4200 PCL 5 @LPT1:
FinePrint @FPR5:
Fax @SHRFAX:
DocuCom PDF Driver @DocuCom PDF Port:
\\aic100\fax @\\aic100\Fax
\\AIC100\HP4000 @\\AIC100\HP4000
\\AIC100\HP4200(Legal) @\\AIC100\HP4200(Legal)
STAT PRI contains

Code: Select all

PRINTER TYPE PCL SELECT DIRECT:
PRINTER TYPE PCL SELECT PRN:
PRINTER TYPE NWP SELECT PDF:
PRINTER TYPE NWP SELECT PREVIEW:
PRINTER TYPE NWP SELECT WIN:
Still igonoring the substitutions.

WBCONFIG contains

Code: Select all

CLIENT_CURRENT_DIR .\
SHELL_DEFAULT SERVER
printdir c:\programs\wb\br430\print
SPOOLPATH L:\WB\PRINT
REMOTESPOOLPATH @ C:\programs\wb\br430\print
SPOOLCMD @ c:\WB\SPOOLBAT.BAT [SPOOLFILE] [QUEUE] [PRINTER]
Substitute [REMOTESPOOLPATH] @:.
FONT SYSTEMPC
Don't know if any of this makes any difference.

FNGeorge
Post Reply