IP V6 Compatibility?

More advanced topics discussed.

Moderators: Susan Smith, admin, Gabriel

Post Reply
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

What version of BR will have IP V6 compatibility? Apple is really pushing IP V6 compatibility so we have districts that are moving all their network equipment and addressing to IP V6 so it will not be long until we need to be able to support it! So wanted to find out the status...
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
gordon
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:02 pm

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by gordon »

Version 4.32 uses the latest stable Curl 7.164 for HTTP Client.
4.32 also uses Open SSL 102e.
I'm sure these will support IP V6.

Mikhail is still grappling with upgrading the HTTP Server library. He has made progress recently.
The new library is pretty close to a total rewrite.
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

Does this also apply to Client/Server's use of IP to connect? That is the area I am more concerned with.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

Any updates on this?

We will soon need to use on IPV6 addresses at some of our clients so need Client Server to be able use those addresses to connect.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
Gabriel
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by Gabriel »

Steve,

When I connect to client server, for example, my brparms.txt looks like this:
host=brsoft.sageax.com
label=Sage

My host forwards brsoft.sageax.com to my local internet here at my office.

My router then forwards activity on the CS port to the computer that is my server.

So it seems like it would be the router that needs to support ipv6.

Have you tried doing it that way?

Another option (if you're limiting your software to just LAN and not WAN) is to specify the host by Computer Name.

For example:
host=ACMESERV
label=Coyote

Have you tried doing it that way?

Gabriel
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

Although that works now. Just like IPV4.

We will eventually need to be completely IPV6 compatible inside local networks. There we need the ability for:

Code: Select all

HOST=fe80::803e:3c90:96a2:5303%4
Which it does not currently support
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
Gabriel
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by Gabriel »

So did you specifically try changing your addressing to specify the Server Name instead of the IP address?

That should get you around the problem, no? What am I missing?

host=MACS_Server
label=MACS
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

You're missing that an entry in a Domain name server has to be created that translates Names to Addresses. This needs to be able to work without a DNS name having to be created. IP is address based not name based There is a server translating any name to a IP address. BR needs to be able to work with IPV6 addresses directly not names that have been translated.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
Gabriel
Posts: 401
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Arlington, TX
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by Gabriel »

Oh. I guess windows creates those automatically.

All we have to do is, every computer has a name, assigned when windows is first installed. We simply specify that name and it works.

I moved away from using ip addresses years ago. It's much more easily maintained when doing stuff by name instead of number.

But i can see why you wouldn't want to do that in the mac world if it requires manually setting up dns entries.

Gabriel
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

You are relying upon windows services that many secure networks will have turned off because they flood the network with unnecessary traffic and they will also fail to work when the Master machine goes offline for any reason. Direct ip communication is much faster than relying upon constant DNS resolution. We use dns entries sparingly on both Windows and MAC. I guarantee that a direct ip address connection between two machines will communicate faster than one based upon computername. Yes if you are going across the internet you would use DNS but in a local network. Direct IP means devices can communicate without any other necessary services having to be up and operational.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
bluesfannoz
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: IP V6 Compatibility?

Post by bluesfannoz »

This link has a good write up on why you should no longer use NetBios(What's allowing you to use Name Resolution) within your local network.
https://10dsecurity.com/saying-goodbye-netbios/
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division
Post Reply