Help Facility Issue

General development discussion.

Moderators: Susan Smith, admin, Gabriel

mluchterhand
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Help Facility Issue

Postby mluchterhand » Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:41 pm

On BR 4.32k I get the following error message when pressing F1 on the command console:
"An error (IOT instruction) was encountered. Business Rules! will now terminate."
BR then crashes and leaves a hung session. The error on the server log is:
"*** buffer overflow detected ***: /usr/br/brserver432k terminated"

Windows client. Linux server. I do not have the problem running 4.32c on the same server.

I believe this is a bug tied to the help facility which we do not utilize. Is there a way to disable the help facility? The only "solution" I have found to this is remapping the F1 key, but this breaks the functionality of the F1 key in any programs that utilize the F1 key so it isn't much of a solution.

Does anybody have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Thanks - Matt Luchterhand

John
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby John » Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:34 pm

Have you tried removing the wbCm*.wbh files? Or adding them if they're not there? That might disable or fix it... maybe... I'll attach mine, maybe try replacing them - could be corrupted
Attachments
wbCmd.zip
br help files
(343.6 KiB) Downloaded 155 times
John Bowman

mluchterhand
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby mluchterhand » Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:19 am

Thanks for the suggestion John. I added your help files to both the server and my client folder but still get the same errors.
Thanks - Matt Luchterhand

John
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby John » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:29 am

weird - I'm using 4.32k and I can do F1 from the console in client or server and I don't crash.
John Bowman

John
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby John » Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:56 am

It might be worth a try to replace your dlls and executables to make sure nothing is corrupted. Would you mind sharing your brconfig.sys - maybe there's a clue in there.
John Bowman

bluesfannoz
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby bluesfannoz » Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:34 am

http://brwiki2.brulescorp.com/index.php?title=HelpDflt

I would make sure if you have HELPDFLT in your brconfig/wbconfig sys file that the folder it is pointing to exists and that whatever user is in BR has permissions to that folder as well.
Steve Koger
Computer Specialist
SEKESC-MACS Division

mluchterhand
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby mluchterhand » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:08 am

Thanks for the continued suggestions John and Steve.

I just downloaded all the 432k DLL files from the FTP server and replaced them. Unfortunately I still get the error. I am leaning towards this being a bug with the Linux server (assuming your server is Windows and possibly why you are not getting the error). I have also replicated the error on our test server (also Linux).

I have attached my brconfig.sys in case you see anything that you feel could be out of place. I also turned up the logging and not getting much more information:

Setting logging to log file /usr/br/login.log log level 13.
*** buffer overflow detected ***: /usr/br/brserver432k terminated
(6) Tue Feb 18 09:42:23 2020
matt Wsid: 101 À\¦U Line:09000
Calling exit.

Steve, could you provide a sample statement of the HELPDFLT in your brconfig.sys. Definitely sounds like that is worth a try. I was not familiar with that specification until now and I cannot seem to get the syntax right. Further, should I point to a help file on the client or the server? I am assuming server but thought I'd double check.

Thanks again everyone for the feedback!
Attachments
br432k_config.sys
(967 Bytes) Downloaded 146 times
Thanks - Matt Luchterhand

bluesfannoz
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby bluesfannoz » Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:22 am

Matt
We don't use HELPDFLT in our brconfig file so I don't have an example. But if you don't have one I wouldn't add one. I would make sure any files with a wbh extension in the folder containing brserver have permissions accessible to the users of your software.

I might also do a status stacks and status memory right before you are able to produce the error and make sure you don't have a resource that is low.
Steve Koger

Computer Specialist

SEKESC-MACS Division

mluchterhand
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby mluchterhand » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:13 am

Yeah we don't have a HELPDFLT so I won't worry about adding it then. All the files in our BR folder are set to read, write, execute permission including the .wbh files. I can create the error on demand whenever in 4.32k (no issues with 4.32c or 4.31fb). To generate the error its just a matter of going to command console and pressing the F1 key. Screenshot below of me pressing f1 right after issuing status stacks and status memory.
brhelperror.png
brhelperror.png (62.32 KiB) Viewed 6795 times
Thanks - Matt Luchterhand

bluesfannoz
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:01 am
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby bluesfannoz » Tue Feb 18, 2020 11:18 am

Yes it does appear to be an error with the linux server 4.32k version as I cannot duplicate that on windows. Sorry will let you know if I think of something else to try.
Steve Koger

Computer Specialist

SEKESC-MACS Division

John
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:27 am
Location: West Orange, NJ
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby John » Tue Feb 18, 2020 1:14 pm

I'm on Windows also.

The only thing I saw in your brconfig.sys is an option that is being initiated but is no longer supported. Which *maybe* can cause some weirdness.

from the BR Wiki
Option 35 Honor keepalive timeout (no longer available)

It probably won't make any difference, but you might try removing that line.
John Bowman

mluchterhand
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Contact:

Re: Help Facility Issue

Postby mluchterhand » Thu Feb 20, 2020 1:37 pm

Disabling Option 35 did not fix the issue either. I think I will most likely need to wait for Gordon to chime in on the issue. I appreciate all the suggestions though. Thanks all!
Thanks - Matt Luchterhand


Return to “General Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron